

# THE TAX ASSESSOR-COLLECTORS ASSOCIATION OF TEXAS

A dynamic association of innovative and resourceful professionals whose purpose is to educate, support and advance the office of County Tax Assessor-Collectors of Texas.

www.tacaoftexas.org

### **#BeTheDifference**

### TACA BOARD MEETING CONROE, TX TUESDAY JUNE 9<sup>TH</sup>, 2020, 1:00 PM

#### MINUTES

	tammy.mcrae@mctx.org		
	RANDY RIGGS, CPA, PCC VICE-PRESIDENT EXTERNAL	I.	Call to Order, Prayer and Pledges – Tammy McRae called the meeting to order at 1:45 pm. Bruce Stidham led the invocation.
	MCLENNAN COUNTY randy.riggs@co.mclennan.tx.us	II.	Roll Call – All board members except Cathy Talcott were present. Others on conference call or present were Allison Getz, Karen Lane, Peggy Mar-
	BRUCE STIDHAM, PCAC VICE-PRESIDENT INTERNAL		tinez, Wendy Burgess, Justin Carothers, Amy Lawson, Sarah Lazarowitz and
	GRAYSON COUNTY		Peter McGuill.
	stidhamb@co.grayson.tx.us	III.	Introductions and Guests – none
	LARRY GADDES, PCAC, CTA	IV.	Secretary-Treasurer Report – Larry Gaddes presented the minutes and
	SECRETARY-TREASURER WILLIAMSON COUNTY		financials as described below.
	lgaddes@wilco.org		A. Approval of Minutes
	CATHY C. TALCOTT, PCAC		1. June 2 <sup>nd</sup> Board Meeting – Bruce Stidham moved and Kevin Keischnick
	IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT		seconded to approve the minutes with a correction to a typo as noted by
	COMAL COUNTY talcoc@co.comal.tx.us		Randy Riggs. Motion passed unanimously.
			B. Presentation of Financials – Randy Riggs moved and Shay Luedeke
	DIRECTORS		seconded to accept the financials as presented. The motion passed
			unanimously.
	KEVIN KIESCHNICK, PCC NUECES COUNTY		1. May 2020
	kevin.kieschnick@co.nueces.tx.us		2. Year End FY 2019/2020
	DONNA WILLIS	V.	Conference updates
	LYNN COUNTY		A. VG Young – Peter McGuill noted VG Young will be held in Waco Nov.
	donna.willis@co.lynn.tx.us		10 <sup>th</sup> – 12th. Preparations are ongoing. A business meeting and awards recogni-
	SHAY LUEDEKE, CTOP BELL COUNTY shay.luedeke@bellcounty.texas.gov		tion will be held at VG Young in lieu of the cancelled TACA conference.
			B. TACA – Amy Lawson indicated funds will be sent to TACA for the
			leadership class. The registration process worked well this year. Larry Gaddes
	ALBERT URESTI, CTOP BEXAR COUNTY		stated \$1508 were spent for 2020 conference expenses. Registration refunds
	albert.uresti@bexar.org		will be issued the week of the 8 <sup>th</sup> .
			$C \mathbf{D}$

C. Digital promotion and vendor update – Sarah Lazarowitz presented updates on virtual vendor rooms. Refunds of \$3850 were sent back to vendors that cancelled their booth sponsorship.

VI. Committee, Liaison and Director Reports and Updates

A. TAC Board and PTAAB committee – Randy Riggs presented an update on both subjects.

B. Technology - Justin Carothers stated the EZ-Task contract ends Oct. 30 and

TAMMY McRAE, PCAC PRESIDENT MONTGOMERY COUNTY tammy.mcrae@mctx.org



## THE TAX ASSESSOR-COLLECTORS ASSOCIATION OF TEXAS

A dynamic association of innovative and resourceful professionals whose purpose is to educate, support and advance the office of County Tax Assessor-Collectors of Texas.

www.tacaoftexas.org

#### **#BeTheDifference**

### TACA BOARD MEETING CONROE, TX TUESDAY JUNE 9<sup>TH</sup>, 2020, 1:00 PM

#### MINUTES

has communicated with TAC about progressing with CIRA. Kevin Kieschnick moved and Randy Riggs seconded to approve the previously presented TAC website hosting contract. Motion passed unanimously. Kevin Kieschnick moved and Donna Willis seconded to approve the interlocal agreement with CIRA. Motion passed unanimously.

C. TxDMV – Michelle French provided an update as the DMV liaison. Albert Uresti indicated the Bexar County Tax Office won a NACO award for their vehicle title fraud SIU operation. DMV has cancelled the kiosk pilot program. UT continues their information gathering for the DL study.

D. Allison Getz – Virtual session update – They are going well and about 350 members have signed up to attend the sessions.

E. Others as needed – no other updates were provided

VII. Discussion and Approval of Bylaws Committee revision

recommendations – Justin Carothers presented several changes to the by-laws as recommended by the By-Laws Committee. Lary Gaddes moved and Kevin Kieschnick seconded to approve the by-laws as recommended to be presented at the next membership meeting. The motion passed with Albert Uresti voting against. Justin Carothers offered adding language to add Article X - A & Bto address board elections and meetings to accommodate emergencies where meetings can't be held in person. Kevin Kieschnick moved and Randy Riggs seconded to have the language as amended with edits to add Article X sections A and B to the by-laws and presented for a vote by the membership. The motion passed unanimously.

VIII. Committee appointments and ratification of extensions – Tammy McRae presented her committee chair announcements. Albert Uresti moved and Donna Willis seconded to ratify the apppt of Justin Carothers per TACA by-laws.

IV. Discuss and determine date to conduct the annual Audit – Larry Gaddes will reach out to TAAO to secure rooms for the annual audit. Time and date TBD.

- X. Determine date for next board meeting Larry Gaddes will reach out to TAAO to secure rooms for the next board meeting. Time and date TBD. Discussion was also had to determine the need for a board retreat. It was determined we will not have a retreat for 2020-2021.
- XI. Adjourn the meeting adjourned at 3:55pm.

#### **OFFICERS**

TAMMY McRAE, PCAC PRESIDENT MONTGOMERY COUNTY tammy.mcrae@mctx.org

RANDY RIGGS, CPA, PCC VICE-PRESIDENT EXTERNAL MCLENNAN COUNTY randy.riggs@co.mclennan.tx.us

BRUCE STIDHAM, PCAC VICE-PRESIDENT INTERNAL GRAYSON COUNTY stidhamb@co.grayson.tx.us

LARRY GADDES, PCAC, CTA SECRETARY-TREASURER WILLIAMSON COUNTY Igaddes@wilco.org

CATHY C. TALCOTT, PCAC IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT COMAL COUNTY talcoc@co.comal.tx.us

#### DIRECTORS

KEVIN KIESCHNICK, PCC NUECES COUNTY kevin.kieschnick@co.nueces.tx.us

DONNA WILLIS LYNN COUNTY donna.willis@co.lynn.tx.us

SHAY LUEDEKE, CTOP BELL COUNTY shay.luedeke@bellcounty.texas.gov

ALBERT URESTI, CTOP BEXAR COUNTY albert.uresti@bexar.org